Exploring the Solar System

Other Bodies

The Solar System is the Sun, the surrounding bubble of energy it generates, nine major planets, minor planets, planetoids, asteroids, comets, moons, rings and other objects. All of the bodies of the Solar System swim in a thin soup of rocky dust particles.

In addition to nine planets, there are at least 61 moons, plus thousands of minor planets or asteroids, more than 1,000 observed comets and plenty of meteoroids and other debris leftover from the original star formation time.

Minor planets are asteroids and planetoids. They are small rough rocks orbiting the Sun. There may be more than 100,000, but only about 7,000 have been catalogued. Meteorites arriving at Earth probably are fragments from these minor planets.

Copyright 2004 Space Today Online         Help